June 9, 1887.

The Annual Meeting for the Election of Fellows was held this day.

Professor G. G. STOKES, D.C.L., President, in the Chair.

The Statutes relating to the election of Fellows having been read, Dr. J. H. Gladstone and Mr. G. J. Symons were, with the consent of the Society, nominated Scrutators to assist the Secretaries in examining the lists.

The votes of the Fellows present were then collected, and the following candidates were declared duly elected into the Society:—

Buchanan, John Young, M.A.
Cash, John Theodore, M.D.
Douglass, Sir James Nicholas, M.I.C.E.
Ewing, Prof. James Alfred, B.Sc.
Forbes, Prof. George, M.A.
Gowers, William Richard, M.D.
Kennedy, Prof. Alexander B. W., M.I.C.E.

King, George, M.B.
Kirk, Sir John, M.D.
Lodge, Prof. Oliver Joseph, D.Sc.
Milne, Prof. John, F.G.S.
Pickard-Cambridge, Rev. Octavius, M.A.
Snelus, George James, F.C.S.
Walsingham, Thomas, Lord.
Whitaker, William, B.A.

Thanks were given to the Scrutators.

June 16, 1887.

Professor G. G. STOKES, D.C.L., President, in the Chair.

The Right Hon. the Earl of Rosebery (elected 1886), Mr. H. C. Russell (elected 1886), Mr. John Young Buchanan, Dr. John Theodore Cash, Sir James Nicholas Douglass, Prof. James Alfred Ewing, Prof. George Forbes, Dr. William Richard Gowers, Prof. Alexander B. W. Kennedy, Sir John Kirk, Mr. George James Snelus, and Lord Walsingham, were admitted into the Society.

The Presents received were laid on the table, and thanks ordered for them.

The following Papers were read:-